top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFarhan Qazi

Best 2020 fashion trends



2020 hasn’t been the best year for anyone I would say, honestly it hasn’t been the best one for fashion either. DISCLAIMER: something does not have to be a trend in order for you to wear it if you like something then put it on! This year’s fashion is scattered with comebacks from the 90s, classic and hip all in one.



1. Tie-dye and bleach overdye

It may not be the best trend out there but here it is anyway. Let's be real when you saw it trending on TikTok you tried it yourself, I know I did. What really pushed me to DIY them was that urban outfitters was selling anything tie-dyed at a ridiculous price. This is just another trend making a comeback, it first originated in the 60s and then kept having a comeback until the nineties. I personally prefer minimal pastel tie-dye as it's less busy, easy on the eyes and still has visual interest. I also like a bleach dye as it looks great on blues. It really just depends on how it’s worn. I wouldn’t spend money on this trend because it probably won’t last long.



2. Retro windbreakers

Retro windbreakers are definitely one of my favourite trends in 2020. They are essential in any closet! Not only are they stylish but they are also lightweight and perfect for warmer weather. They protect you from light showers and chilling winds. You can pull them off fitted or oversized and there's a variety of styles to choose from. They give off a sporty 90s vibe. I personally love thrifting windbreakers and would highly recommend it because whatever you find will always be unique.



3. Vintage watches


I have been wearing vintage watches long before they became a trend, I personally never purchased any because I have my dad's hand me downs. The vintage watches that are in trend right now have a wider face, compared to past trends. Men’s 31mm to 36mm sized watch faces are just as popular with women now, while in the past they have been very delicate.



4. Autumnal hues


Right now I am so obsessed with autumnal hues! I have been using these tones for everything. My favourite is rust orange, its warm and energetic. Orange, in general, was a big trend in the 70s and has definitely come back.



5. Mixing print


The trend is to mix larger and smaller scale prints. The way to mix patterns is to play with proportion and keep a cohesive colour palette. If you want to pull the trend off the patterns have to be as different as possible. I like to use shirts and pants with patterns like plaid/checks, stripes, houndstooth and camo.




6. Double denim

“The Canadian tuxedo” something I’ve never really been a fan of, but when it’s done right anyone can pull it off. I personally think that wearing two of the same shades of denim doesn’t contrast and stand out as much, in comparison to dark and light shades of denim which are more visually interesting.


87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page